Downtime

Hi Folks,

As you might have realized The Midnight Bell has not been tolling for a while. That was because I was doing what was wrong for the right reasons.

I was focusing on my career as an advertising copywriter, so I stopped writing recreationally for a while. In the End it turns out that writing copy for my current company just won’t work out for many reasons. one of which is very probably me. Me and the things I need.

I need a strong team to be creative, I need to love my topic to write on it and I need to know why the fuck I am doing something which is clearly against a clients best interest just because the client says so. In absence of all these things my former talent has waned. So now I find myself not only out looking for a job once more, but also questioning my choice of profession and, which is the most annoying: my talent.

What keeps me happy these days was putting together my Portfolio and realizing how good I used to be. How well I could think and write when the circumstances permitted it.

If I have learned anything from this, it is that I have been going at things the wrong way for the last year and a half. I believed that making clients happy would make me happy, when it is really the other way around. If I am happy, so will be my clients. Because, at least in my case quality comes with happiness, and that really is what clients are looking for.

I need to relax, unclench, stop procrastinating, because procrastinating means that you really don’t like what you should be doing. In the end you can never force yourself to be happy. but if you look long enough and hard enough, know what you want and listen to yourself, happiness will find you.

I also became dishearted when I started this Blog and only got three reads a day, but you know what? No more! I am writing this for myself now, to do something great for me. to put something into this world creatively that is worth your and my Time.

I might be out on the market again, looking for a new job but I don’t sweat it. I might not end up being a copywrighter, but if I end up loving what I’m doing it’s all for the best.

 

Welcome back dear Readers. I might not be doing as much politicking as I used to, but I am writing again. Let’s see where it takes us.

If you read this I love you.

Benjamin aka The Midnighttoller

One comment on “Downtime

  1. Fiona.q says:

    “doing sth for a living”, “doing sth which you really love”, and “doing sth which can utilize your talent” are 3 different things, at least to me. not many people are lucky enough to combine those together. so i would say, even if you will not, still find the way to make yourself happy, cuz that’s the only thing matters 😉
    take care, pal.

Leave a Reply

